Comment #2

I started reading this post with no context, so I appreciate the background you gave in the start of the post. It clearly explains what your group is doing, and I think would even be understandable to someone who is not in the game design program. I understand the choice you made of removing the light altogether from Umibozo. I playtested many of the Umibozo games during the alpha playtesting session, and found that several of the game’s light mechanic was very confusing and only remember a few where it made clear sense. It also became very distracting in the games where it was not well implemented. I think momentum in avatar movements is extremely important to realism. Even Mario in the NES title has momentum (where he slides a little bit after you stop moving). Momentum like this would be especially important since your avatar is a boat, where this movement is even more obvious. Overall, I like the choices you’ve made so far and think they will massively improve your game!

Original Post: https://gamedesign673637781.wordpress.com/2018/02/15/scrapping-the-light-and-adjusting-boat-movement/

One thought on “Comment #2

Leave a comment