Blog Post #3 – Scrum

Scrum is a method of development in which certain portions of the work are divided into weekly packages called Sprints. Scrum also calls for daily standup meetings which are simply short meetings to go over the previous day.
I think the scrum method has been extremely helpful in the development of Behemoth. I have found it makes keeping track of everything that needs to be done very well and also prevents each member of the group from getting too bogged down with a ton of work at once. One of my biggest weaknesses is trying to keep track of everything I need to do, but since we’ve been using Scrum it’s pretty much a no-brainer, because all my work is written there on the excel sheet and planned at the beginning of the week. I always know what I need to do which is a huge relief to start with. The end-of-week “deadline” that is the sprint review also gives me motivation to work on my assigned work so that I can show what I’ve done by the end of the sprint plan.
Sometimes though, things don’t always go according to plan. This is something we quickly corrected as it should not happen during scrum. A few of us in the group during one sprint plan ended up discussing what we needed most after the work had been assigned, and by the end of the week had done something different from our original work packages. While it turned out alright in the end, this is something we strive to avoid happening again by planning our sprints more carefully at the beginning of the week.
Overall, I think Scrum is a good system and I wouldn’t mind using it again for another project even if we weren’t required to. It helps our group keep track of things as a whole and helps me know what I am supposed to be doing at all times, which is something I wouldn’t trust myself with. The scrum system makes the most sense to me when compared to the other game design methods we were introduced to.

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #3 – Scrum

  1. Hi Amanda,
    I like your colourful use of language because it helps make your blog’s text flow more easily and keeps the interest of the readers.
    You explain what the scrum development involves in short easy to understand sentences which is good for someone unexperienced. You also say how it effects you but you don’t explain how this also would effect your team, other than the workload is easier. I think explaining how it can effect the team in more detail would be more benefitual to people who don’t already have experience with working in scrum. I did however, like how easy it was to understand how scrum works with individuals and people who don’t know scrum can as least relate to how it effected you personally.
    Your motivation for using scrum as the method of development doesn’t say why you would use scrum in the first place. Yes you did clarify your reasons for choosing it but why would someone else choose it? Especially if there are other methods of development that they could choose instead. You need to explain why this method provides more value than any other methods, since you exclaim that this method is your preferred method. You also say you were introduced to other methods but then you stop? This closing statement doesn’t make sense to me as it makes me feel like your about to tell me what those other methods are but instead you leave me wanting more. If this was your way of saying there will be another post for this then i give you a thumbs up since it makes a could cliff hanger.
    Overall, you are missing a picture in order to complete this blog post. But i like your way of thinking and it becomes intuitive when you describe how things could go wrong in a project. I hope to see more good posts like this in the future and I am also sorry if it sounded like i didn’t think your post was good! Becuase it is and does provide value to other people!
    – Natasha Bianca Mangan.

    Like

Leave a comment