Blog Post #1

When we came up for the altered art style of Behemoth, which, unlike its concept document counterpart, is a mysterious world filled with crystalline monsters and ships, I wanted the sound to directly reflect that. While it’s been difficult to start creating sounds exactly how I want with my lack of experience in doing so, I have managed to create some interesting ones. The “Behemoth” (the player-controlled sentient war machine) has an almost whale-like vibe to it. I created some low, deep roars with metallic clangs accompanying them by having Sam grumble into the mic, then overlaying a track of me jangling my keys around and then lowering the pitch of both. The result was surprisingly interesting, despite how funny it sounds. I have yet to find out how to add a “crystalline” feeling to the sounds, which I would imagine could involve some sort of glass clattering around but haven’t found the items to make such a noise. The impact sound, for example, should have the sound of glass breaking on a large scale, since the massive ship looks to be made of glass or crystal.

Making projectile sounds turned out to be quite simple. The best and easiest way to make a Star Wars-esque laser sound is simply to drop the end of a metal slinky to the floor. The slinky creates sound waves and the impact sounds pretty much exactly like, “pew!”. I do not have a slinky of my own with me right now, so I had to venture online to find a video of someone else doing exactly this and record it into Audacity. Layering this sound a few times at different pitches, and then adding a further “impact sound” by banging my hand on my desk added more oomph to the blast sound. My next goal would be to possibly create some alternate projectile sounds for each enemy, so that the player can distinguish between his/her fire versus the enemy’s. In the current game beta, it’s a bit difficult to predict the enemy fire, so I think sound might be a bit of a push in that direction to correcting the problem.

One thought on “Blog Post #1

  1. You explain everything in much detail which is a very good thing for the one who reads. Since it is so detailed it makes it very clear how the work you have done this week have been done (It was also very interesting and funny to hear about the sounds and how you made them). It was good that you mentioned the difficulties you had too since that is a part of doing something that you have never done before.

    The HOW-part is very clear but what i can’t really find is an explanation to WHY you did this work this week. You did however mention why you wanted to make the sound of the collision of the boat sound like clattering glass which is somewhat an explanation to why you want to make a sound like that.

    You could have mentioned what program you used earlier and in a clearer way since Audacity, from my understanding, was the program used for all of the work done this week.

    Overall I think it a very valuable post. Everything was well explained (and even though “being interesting” is not a requirement for the blog posts, it was).

    Keep up the good work and good luck with your game!

    Like

Leave a comment